Food and Flying

Autumnal Breakfast Smoothie

I will never understand people who complain about autumn. What is not to love about this time of year, bar maybe the rain.Conkers, falling leaves, hot chocolate, open fires, and best of all: my birthday!! This season also brings a host of amazing foods to add to your recipe repertoire.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I have no issues in admitting to my rather dubious relationship with fruit, and when it comes to smoothies I have a pretty closed mind: banana, raspberries blueberries, and blackberries is about as far as my experimenting goes. But as summer fades and autumn comes tumbling in, new fruit and new opportunities to branch out arise.

Now I won’t lie, this recipe was kind of forced upon me after going to two supermarkets to find neither had any berries for my normal morning smoothie, I had to improvise – shock horror – but now that my tastebuds have been enlightened I couldn’t be happier to expand my morning preferences! This mix of banana, apple, dates, and a few other goodies is like all the great tastes of autumn (excluding pumpkin, of course) packed into one glass.

And as with all smoothies, it’s super quick and easy in the morning and perfect pre workout fuel or just a generally great nutritious kickstart to your day!

Top Tips

  • Top with granola and goji berries for an added extra crunch!
  • Adding blackberries to this concoction (if you can find them in your supermarket…..) also makes for a yummy autumn smoothie.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Ingredients (yields 1 glass)

1 medium banana

3/4 small apple

6 pitted dates

1 tbsp peanut buterr

1 scoop vanilla protein powder

Almond milk (until it’s the right consistency for you)

Dash of cinnamon

Ice (optional)

Method

  1. Peel, core, and cut the apple, and chop the dates into smaller pieces.
  2. Put all ingredients into your blender and blend until smooth. Enjoy!
This entry was published on October 6, 2014 at 10:33 pm. It’s filed under Breakfast, RECIPES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Autumnal Breakfast Smoothie

  1. I’ve always regretted making smoothies for breakfast in the past since they never keep me full until lunch, but yours looks like a whole different beast. That blend looks perfectly satisfying, and even more importantly, utterly delicious.

    Liked by 1 person

Suggestions and Comments Welcome!

