Food and Flying

Berry Smoothie-Protein-Porridge

I most definitely should not be posting on here right now with the amount of work I have to do, but I cannot keep this to myself any longer! I had an epiphany in my sleep last night. As per usual bedtime routine, whilst I tried to fall asleep, I debated with myself what to have for breakfast after my 7am spin class I had the next morning. Into my slumber I fell, and there it occurred to me: why not combine two of my favourite breakfasts in one bowl?! I truly do not know how I didn’t think of this sooner.

IMG_7074

To make your bog standard porridge you require milk (or water if you’re mad) and oats; for this smoothie-porridge, instead of adding the milk straight into the saucepan with the oats, you put it in the blender with your desired fruit and whizz it up to create a thinnish smoothie – then add it to the pan and let all your porridgy cravings be fulfilled.

IMG_7075
The recipe I’m sharing today is perfectly autumnal and heart-warming – all you need to brighten your day in this dreary UK weather. A combination of milk, blackberries, blueberries, dates, cinnamon, and vanilla whey protein powder all whizzed up into a smoothie before adding to the oats in a saucepan – it was an absolute dream and I hope you enjoy them as much as I did!

Top Tips

  • I like to use ordinary semi-skimmed milk in my porridge, but of course you can use whatever milk you fancy – almond milk would be my second choice and works just as well.
  • Any fruit combination will work, just make sure there’s enough milk in the blender so that the consistency of the smoothie is closer to milk than smoothie!IMG_7064
  • I topped my porridge with a generous sprinkling of Lizzi’s Original Granola – but only because that’s all I had (life of a student); if I was at home I would have put more blueberries on top, goji berries, and perhaps some flaked almonds.
  • This is not something you should make everyday, it is quite carb heavy for breakfast. I treated myself today having done a 45 minute spin class followed by 45 minute weight training in the gym.

Ingredients (yields one large bowl)

1/2 cup jumbo rolled oats

1 cup chosen milk

5 blackberries

1 handful blueberries

5 dates

Dash of cinnamon

1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder

Method

  1. Put the oats into a saucepan with a thin layer of milk to cover them, so that they begin to soften whilst you prepare the smoothie.
  2. Place the remaining ingredients into the blender and blend until smooth, ensuring the right consistency is reached – add more milk if the smoothie is too thick.
  3. Pour the smoothie into the saucepan with the oats and cook on high heat until the edges begin to bubble.
  4. Turn the heat down to medium and stir regularly for 5-6 minutes.
  5. Pour the porridge into a bowl and top with whatever takes your fancy!

IMG_7073

P.S I’m going home to London this weekend for a friend’s 21st – so expect LOTS of new posts coming soon! Cannot wait to get baking!

This entry was published on October 15, 2014 at 2:10 pm. It’s filed under Breakfast, RECIPES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Suggestions and Comments Welcome!

