Food and Flying

Sweet Potato Noodles and my Caveman Kitchen Cutter

Well, great news this week: I entered into a Greens of the Stone Age contest to win a vegetable spiralizer, and guess what… I won!!! After receiving a lovely email from Georgina, the blog’s author, I replied with my delivery address and within 2 days there it was, my free brand new cooking toy – ready to play with. If you’re like me, and rarely win anything on sheer luck, you’ll understand my excitement when I got a knock on the door from my housemate to tell me a parcel had arrived, my Caveman Kitchen Cutter.

IMG_7778In light of this, of course I had to experiment with a new vegetable noodle pasta dish! Sweet potato is a staple in my university food cupboard, and running extremely low on every other food as of late, it seemed the perfect option for my noodle base. A snazzy dinner but secretly simple, made up of whatever I had left in the fridge.

In light of Georgina’s fabulous blog, I decided to make this recipe paleo diet friendly and as always, gluten free. It can easily be vegan as well but I really fancied some eggs to bulk out the dinner, but as a lunch option they are definitely not necessary! It’s deceivingly creamy and delicious without all the heaviness from a traditional cream sauce, using avocados instead!

IMG_7773Caveman Kitchen Cutter: It is a small compact gadget, which is great for someone like me with minimal space for storage at uni. It is relatively easy to use and comes with a safety lid (use if possible to avoid the added extra of finger noodles in your dinner – yes that happened) and a handy little cleaner. Having used a sweet potato, which are traditionally more oval-shaped than long, it made using the cutter harder than normal as I had to get my fingers extremely close to the blade in order to minimise any wastage. Using longer, thinner vegetables – courgette, carrots, parsnip – would definitely be much easier, and satisfying as you’d probably get longer noodles out of them.

IMG_7782

Ingredients (yields 1 serving)

Sauce:

1/2 avocado

1 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp almond milk

1 tsp paprika

Splash of tabasco

Salt and pepper

Water (until desired consistency)

Pasta:

1 medium sized sweet potato

1/2 red onion

1 clove garlic

Large handful of kale

2 poached eggs

FullSizeRender-1-2

Method

  1. First, organise the sauce. Cut the avocado into small cubes and put into a blender with all the other sauce ingredients. Blend, adding water until your desired consistency is reached.
  2. Chop onion and garlic and fry off in a large frying pan with some olive oil on a medium heat for 3-4 minutes. Add the kale and put on a low heat for a further 4-5 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, prepare the sweet potato noodles using your Caveman Kitchen Cutter (or whatever spiralizer you own).
  4. Turn the heat back up to medium and add the sweet potato to the frying pan, tossing until tender. Then add 2 tbsp of hot water to the pan to ensure the sweet potato softens.
  5. Add as much sauce as you fancy to the frying pan and turn the heat on low.
  6. Poach 2 eggs in a saucepan of simmering water for 2 minutes.
  7. Plate up with the eggs on top and any extra sauce you have left.

IMG_7776

This entry was published on November 16, 2014 at 8:59 am. It’s filed under Dinner, RECIPES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Noodles and my Caveman Kitchen Cutter

  1. Fantastic recipe! I might have to try this out for my lunch today! Yummy! Congratulations on winning the competition 🙂

    Like

  2. wow this looks awesome! Found this courtesy of your sisters Instagram, how lucky I am! Great recipe, gonna try it as soon as I get myself a spiraliser

    Like

Suggestions and Comments Welcome!

