Food and Flying

Whole 30: Day 1 Breakfast

So it has finally arrived, the first day of my very first Whole 30 detox and I’m actually quite excited! Just to set the record straight, I want to explain my reasoning behind embarking on this challenging month: this is not a quest to lose weight, or find a quick fix to any aesthetic issue I might have. What it is, however,  is an attempt to detox my body from all the bad (but very good) food I’ve indulged in over the past month or so, allowing my body to recover and return to running on optimum nutrition – kind of like a reset button. This is not a lifestyle!! After my 30 days I will definitely gradually reintroduce certain food groups – because let’s be honest what is life without peanut butter and quinoa?!  But I will also assess any positive changes the avoidance of foods falling under the dairy and processed categories bring, and decide to what degree I wish to continue avoiding them.

On to today’s recipe! You can probably tell from my blog I am a slave to breakfast. It is absolutely my favourite meal of the day: waffles, pancakes, oats, granola – my sweet tooth gets its fix in the mornings, which is the main reason Whole 30 is going to be such a challenge… Alas, I thought I’d throw myself right in to the spirit of things with scrambled eggs, simple but delicious. When you’re used to oats or granola on a daily basis, you forget the beauty of eggs: today I was reawakened!

Scrambled Eggs with Spinach, Plum Tomatoes and Walnuts

Ingredients (serves 1)

1 tsp coconut oil

2 eggs

Splash of almond milk

Large handful of spinach

6 baby plum tomatoes halved

Handful of walnuts

1 tsp chilli flakes

1/2 tsp paprika

Salt and pepper to taste

Method

  1. Melt the coconut oil in a pan. Add the spinach, tomato halves and walnuts and sauté for a couple of minutes on a medium high heat.
  2. Once the spinach begins to wilt, add the chilli flakes, paprika, salt and pepper to cook for another minute, then transfer the spinach/tomato/walnut mix to your plate or bowl.
  3. Turn the heat down to medium. Crack both eggs into the same pan with a splash of milk and some salt and pepper (omit the milk if you prefer a less fluffy scrambled egg), scramble using a fork.
  4. The eggs should only take a couple of minutes to cook, when they’re done to your preference transfer them to the plate with the spinach mix and voila a Whole 30 nutritious breakfast!
This entry was published on January 22, 2015 at 3:03 pm. It’s filed under Breakfast, RECIPES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Whole 30: Day 1 Breakfast

  1. Good luck! Interested to know how it goes!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Whole 30: Day 2 Lunch | Food and Flying

Suggestions and Comments Welcome!

