Food and Flying

The Good Life Eatery: Restaurant Review

Sloane Square: home to the sophisticated, the nonchalant and the infamous Kings Road – and just off of this marvellously classy street is where you will find the unassuming Good Life Eatery. Prized by Made In Chelsea‘s Millie Mackintosh, this tiny food stop is a little haven for the health conscious.

I had been desperate to pay a visit to The Good Life Eatery for a while, of course it was on The List, so when my ex-housemate came down from Birmingham to visit we ceased the opportunity for an impromptu lunch date. She had tried to eat there once before but there were queues out the door, so we were well aware of its popularity and decided to go for a late lunch at 3pm. When we arrived, there were still queues out the door!! Clearly we were on to a winner with this place! The wait was understandable considering how very small the restaurant was, with only around 5 proper tables and a few bar seats. I wasn’t too bothered by any means, I was more than happy to get well acquainted with their healthy cake and pastry display, eyeing up the plentiful gluten free treats to kill the time!

FullSizeRender-2 copy 2

Eventually we nabbed a table at the back and ordered a Goodness Bowl each with The Hulk superfood smoothie for myself, and the Coco Butter for her. What is truly great about this restaurant is its dedication to seasonal fresh food. When we visited, the Goodness Bowl consisted of a peanut coleslaw, sweet potato mash, half an avocado covered in energy boosting seeds, long tender stemmed broccoli, and a superfood combo including goji berries, edamame beans and bean sprouts, all served with a cashew creme and chickpea crisp, and amazingly all gluten and dairy free. However, seeing as the menu is continually changing, it is probable this particular salad bowl combo is a one off. But don’t let that stop you – if this was anything to go by, the whole menu is sure to be flavoursome and wonderful! I truly savoured every section of my plate, finishing last – which is unheard of for me!

The superfood smoothies were also up there with the grub. As I may have mentioned in my previous posts, the only time any fussy eater tendencies surface is where fruit is concerned. I am relatively novice in fruit-eating and loving, only really ever venturing as eFullSizeRender-3 copy 2xotic as berries and bananas with my consumption at home. So I thought I’dexperiment outside the box picking The Hulk, containing: wheatgrass, spirulina, raw almonds, coconut milk, pineapple, banana, madagascar vanilla, and fresh basil, topped with bee pollen. My little top tip for ordering these superfood smoothies is to always go for one packed with expensive health foods, like wheatgrass and spirulina, things you can’t afford to buy on a weekly basis to load your own cooking with – that way you’re really getting the most of an otherwise dear extra. I slurped mine down pretty quick, couldn’t even taste the normally quite potent wheatgrass! Alanna’s choice of the Coco Butter was a personal fav of hers having ordered it on her last visit; made up of coconut milk, coconut water, peanut butter, dates, and madagascan vanilla. The taste I got of it went down a treat – but obviously, it has peanut butter in it, you can’t really go wrong!

Overall, thoroughly enjoyed my visit and I can’t wait to drag my sister down there as well. My only complaint is that it is far too small for its demand! Open some more branches and make this one bigger!!!

FullSizeRender-4 copy

P.S This was pre-Whole 30, don’t worry I’m well aware of the rules…

This entry was published on January 25, 2015 at 11:04 pm. It’s filed under REVIEWS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Suggestions and Comments Welcome!

