Food and Flying

Delicious Alchemy’s White Bread Mix: Pizza

You probably remember my past post about Delicious Alchemy’s vanilla sponge mix, with which I made a delightfully moist banana bread… Well, also included in our little package was a white bread mix, which my sister and I finally got round to using a few weeks back. We decided to make a pizza base out of it as neither of us are massive fans of white bread.

As I’m dairy free I topped mine with homemade tomato sauce, courgette ribbons, homemade vegan pesto (see end of post), mushroom, red onion and, once out the oven, some fresh greek basil. But obviously knock yourself out with mozzarella if you fancy!

FullSizeRender-3

Pizza Base

Ingredients (makes 2 bases)

1 packet Delicious Alchemy white bread mix

200ml tepid water

1-2tbsp olive oil

Pinch salt

Pinch sugar

Gluten free flour for sprinkling work surface

Method

  1. Pour the bread mix into a large mixing bowl and make a well in the centre.
  2. Add all the ingredients (apart from the gluten free flour for sprinkling) to the well and combine until a dough begins to form.
  3. Transfer dough to a flour sprinkled work surface and knead for around 5 minutes. We let the dough rest for half an hour but this may not be necessary.
  4. Preheat the oven to its hottest temp. Separate the dough into two equal halves and roll into desired pizza base shape.FullSizeRender
  5. Heat about 1tsp of olive oil in a large non stick frying pan. Making sure the the pan is very hot, fry the bases for 2-3 minutes on each sides to get them nice and crispy.
  6. Now top with whatever you fancy – if you’re using pesto (recipe below) I advice you to leave that until after the pizzas are cooked (ignore my pictures) because basil browns when heated.
  7. Bake the pizzas in the oven until cheese has melted (if using cheese), and edges begin to brown. Keep an eye on it, they should take around 15 minutes.

Homemade Vegan Pesto

Ingredients (yields around 1 cup)

2 large handfuls of basil

2tbsp pine nuts

Olive oil until desired consistency reached (I use around 1/4 cup)

1 large clove garlic

1 tsp cayenne pepper

S+P to taste

Method

  1. Add everything to a food processor and blend until pesto forms!

FullSizeRender-2

FullSizeRender-4

Although yummy, I have to admit this was not my favourite when it comes to gluten free bases. I think I’ve become so accustomed to my good old cauliflower base that I actually kind of missed that when I was eating this! Unfortunately the bread mix kind of lacked any good solid flavour, which was probably my own fault as I didn’t add any like I normally do with the cauliflower base. I reckon for the best gluten free base make it a hybrid!!

I have yet to actually try this, but my suggestion for any of you who wish to give this a go is to half the water to 100ml, add 1 chia egg, add half a cauliflower head processed, and most importantly: 2 tbsp tamari, 1-2 tbsp mixed italian herbs and 1 tbsp garlic powder – give the dough some oomph!!

If you don’t want to make a hybrid, I’d still add the ingredients above that are in bold to the bread mix base for some extra flavour packed in the base.

FullSizeRender-5

This entry was published on May 10, 2015 at 10:02 pm. It’s filed under Dinner, RECIPES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Suggestions and Comments Welcome!

